Overdue Introduction

As I start this new blog, I am also taking a class (blogging101) to help me get started in the blogging world. Our first assignment is to introduce ourselves. For those of you that haven’t been to the “About the Farm” page, please feel free to click the link at the top of the page and read a little more about how Shaun and I got on this path. In addition to “About the Farm, ” I figured I would add in some additional tidbits for the purpose of this assignment.

  • I am choosing to blog publicly vs. a private journal so that I can reach out to others with similar interests and share information as well as get feedback from others working towards the same goals.
  • Topics I would like to write about include small farms, homesteading, permaculture, chickens, rabbits, hogs, gardening, healthy living and eating, sustainability, humorous moments on the farm as well as learning experiences, and just sharing day to day life. Part of me would also love to write about NICU nursing, but I feel very hindered by HIPPA laws, so I probably won’t be able to say much about that, other than it is my “other life on the weekends.”
  • Via the blog, I would love to be able to connect with other small farmers and people that are interested in becoming more connected with their food. I also hope to use the blog as a place to share our farm experiences with family, friends, and anyone who wants to read about the happenings at Campbell Family Farm.
  • If I blog successfully throughout the coming year, at least I will have accomplished a journal that I will be able to look back on and remember some of the special moments we had during this first year on the farm.

A little more about me…I have a big family, 3 half-sisters, 2 step-brothers, 2 step-sisters, 2 nephews, and 1 niece. I love them all and miss them very much all the time, especially since none of them live here in South Carolina. Luckily, this means we get lots of visitors. My Husband and I have been married less then a year, we spur-of-the-moment eloped at a nearby lake last March, prior to that we had been dating for several years and exploring the country while I working as a travel nurse. Prior to that we met and lived in CT where I had my first job out of nursing school. After all our travels, we settled in upstate South Carolina for the reasonable cost of living, beautiful weather, and wonderful people in this area. In the short time we have lived in the upstate, we have met many people inspired by permaculture and a better way of life, this makes us feel at home, even though we have only been here a year this month. That’s enough for now, don’t forget to check out the “About the Farm” page of you haven’t already, please feel free to comment, I’m open to any and all feedback. Happy New Year!

7 thoughts on “Overdue Introduction

      1. I’m so proud of you both for taking on this bold new adventure. I enjoyed the food you made while I was visiting, along with learning about the chickens, and warming up by the beautiful fireplace. This is your first farm and home. I’m glad your not traveling anymore though. Farming will settle you both into a simple and comfortable lifestyle with nature.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

